Worn out by the hype

can't believe the hype It is so easy to say that what really matters is that we are. That is to say, that we are human, we are created, we are children, we are a reflection of God’s beauty and that is enough. It is quite another thing to really be satisfied in knowing that I am of great value intrinsically because God made me and that I need not do or say anything profound to be worthwhile.

I confess that sometimes I get so caught up in, and worn out by the hype of the poop (er I mean pop, er do I), culture that inevitably finds ways of creeping into Christendom. Perhaps you could say that it doesn’t have to creep in because most of the time we bring it in with us. I forget that by just existing, I am joining with every other created thing declaring the beauty, and majestic creativity of God. Sometimes I feel like I am wasting God’s time, and yours by not doing or saying anything extraordinary.

In these moments I begin to gage my worth by what I have accomplished, what my ministry has accomplished, what we have given voice to. And usually, for me it’s never enough and I waste a couple days on a good inner sulk fest. That is kinda where I have been lately. Then today a friend of mine, a fellow laborer in the urban landscape, sent me an email connected to a devotion written by Shane Claiborne. It was just the kick in the ear I needed to refocus. So I would like to share it with you all. You can download it here. And if you haven’t read Shane’s Book “The Irresistible Revolution” yet, hope on, it’s a good ride.

  1. #1 by tom on July 14, 2006 - 4:25 am

    It’s password protected!

  2. #2 by nawbaw on July 14, 2006 - 11:13 am

    what are you talking about?

  3. #3 by tom on July 14, 2006 - 4:34 pm

    the download is password protected.

  4. #4 by nawbaw on July 14, 2006 - 7:17 pm

    really, it shouldn’t be. it’s just a zip file. i will try another link. sorry.

  5. #5 by tom on July 20, 2006 - 10:52 pm

    it links to a mail.casas.org file. i think that’s why it requires a password.

  6. #6 by nawbaw on August 9, 2006 - 2:54 pm

    At long last I have fixed the link to the Shane Claiborne devotional. Tom you were right, I apologize.

  7. #7 by The Artist on September 24, 2006 - 3:27 am

    Saying it simple is better than hype and hyperbole. Saying it simple is not about ego but about the essence, best wishes, The Artist

Leave a Reply

