Everything is Spiritual Tour

Rob BellLast night I journeyed about an hour north to Tempe, AZ. to Rob Bell’s Everything is Spiritual Tour. I, of course went with a group of friends as there is no way I will admit to being that geeky by myself.

For those who are not familiar with Rob Bell, He is the author of the book Velvet Elvis, the pastor of a church in Grand Rapids Michigan called Mars Hill Bible Church, and he has a series of short films called nooma.

All in all I was impressed. The whole setting was very  un-commercialized. Everything from the plain black clothing Rob wore, to the lack of props or video, made the night feel almost like a protest to the showy, commercialized presentations we have grown accustomed to, and I have grown tired of. The only props were a solitary six paneled whiteboard and a label-less black and white marker. Rob didn’t even introduce himself or banter with the crowd, he simply stepped on stage and said, “In the beginning…” and then went on for 100 minutes, never missing a beat.

The Chicago Sun-Times had an interesting article on Rob, and the tour, you can read, here.

The Newyork Times also has a good one here.

  1. #1 by kelly on July 17, 2006 - 1:05 am

    well, as i continue to hear about bell’s remarkable tour, i am wishing more that i could have caught a date of it. alas, i cannot. anyhow, it seems like you like books so i thought while i was here i would suggest one. it’s called Jesus in the Margins by Rick McKinley. blessings~

  2. #2 by nawbaw on July 18, 2006 - 10:27 am

    Kelly,

    Yeah the tour was really worthwhile, too bad you missed it. However I have heard a rumour that the nooma folks did some taping at the pomona gig.

    I do like books thanks for the recomendation. I actually have Rick McKinley’s sitting on my shelf. I have yet to read it though, so thanks for the encouragment.

  3. #3 by Christy on August 2, 2006 - 9:31 pm

    I caught the show in Nashville, TN – Awesome. I have been downloading teachings for several years and highly reccomend NOOMA.

    I am desperately seeking notes and numbers he presented. I have sent a formal request into Mars Hill, & Zondervan but digging in the mean time. If anyone knows where I can grab some of the stats about the dials and such I would be much obliged.
    Thanks!
    .. Walking in the dust of my Rabbi

  4. #4 by nawbaw on August 7, 2006 - 7:58 pm

    Christy,

    Check out the book “A Short History of Nearly Everything” by Bill Bryson.

  5. #5 by Eric on December 16, 2006 - 8:44 pm

    I can confirm that a DVD is being made of ‘Everything is Spiritual’ I attend Mars Hill in Grand Rapids and I was at the filming last night. He did it at a local high school’s fine art center and it was amazing.

Leave a Reply

