read fast foo

The rumours have been confirmed, I am working on becoming a speed reader. It is this that I am happy to share with all you voyeurs who have happened upon this page. So why become a speed reader? Because it's cool! Don't you think? You can sit around and impress the friends that you never hang out with anymore, as you are always going from one library to the next in search of something you haven't yet read. you can read the backs of all the shampoo bottles as you pass them in the grocery store. No more standing there for hours! Think of all the cereal boxes!

Okay the real reason, I have so much reading to do. It seems like I am constantly reading a stack of five books and they take me forever to finish. I have been frustrated for sometime now with the slowness of my reading. Then a friend,( who happens to speak 13 some odd languages) told me that he used to teach speed reading. I was intrigued, a real life speed reader sat before me. He looked so normal, well for a guy who looks a little like Jerry Garcia. But there he was. Then, a mutual friend of our speed reading Jerry Garcia look alike, decided to become a speed reader too. It just escalated from there, it was like an addiction or a wildfire, or being addicted to wildfires… All of the sudden all of area 215 were becoming speed readers…

Does it work? I think so. In about a week and a half I have doubled my reading rate. shoot, I learned how to calculate my reading rate, which was almost impressive enough. I went from reading about 217 words per minute to reading around 400 words per-minute, in a week. Its actually fun, I find myself wanting to read more, to go faster, and faster, to be the superman of speed reading, I may just buy a costume.

so if you happen to be looking for a new addiction, one that may cause you more anti social bahavior, give it a shot. The book I am usding is listed to the right. It's fun, and besides, everybody's doing it.

  1. #1 by nawbaw on June 22, 2006 - 11:06 pm

    Is it lame to comment on your own blog? Oh well, I just wanted to note that after last nights drills, I am now reading around 500 words per minute, whoa baby!

  2. #2 by tom on June 28, 2006 - 1:41 am

    quit bragging!

  3. #3 by nawbaw on June 28, 2006 - 5:46 am

    You know you want to be like me when you grow up, minus the “spiritual mullet”

Leave a Reply

