the scene

the scene Tonight we had a cool show at the Living Room, despite the drama… About a 100 people showed up to see some pretty rockin your socks bands, like The Jon Benet and The American Black Lung.

One of the bands, during their set threw a mic threw our soundproofing wall; I should say the lead singer of the band did. So we decided that we wouldn’t pay them. Now, we decided this not only to recoup the costs of replacing the specialized wall. But also because they disrespected “the scene” and they should not do that. I was breaking this news to the guitarist of the band and of course he was little upset. Which was understandable, they were touring and had to pay for gas to get to the next gig. I said hey, look we’re here day in and day out trying to provide a space for the scene to thrive, and you guys, you blow in and blow out, and you disrespect the scene, what’s up with that? I assured him that I understood it wasn’t his fault, it was the singer. But I said, hey man you’re a part of something, what the singer does effects you, it sucks, I know I feel bad telling you that we can’t pay you because of this but hey, I mean you understand right?

Well, he got it, after all, he got it. I think the band ended up laying into the singer pretty hardcore. He came in and apologized to us later. He said to us very genuinely that he hopes the money that we were going to pay them covers the cost of replacing the wall.

It occurred to me in that moment how much we effect one another. Especially for those of us who live in community, that what we bring, good or bad affects everyone else in the community. Sometimes we need each other to jump on us like this band did to their singer, and say hey man your disrespecting “the scene” and that’s not cool. Maybe for us “the scene” is humanity and the world.

Later on the band they were touring with asked if there was anything they could do for them. I explained the situation; they saw it, and agreed it wasn’t cool what they did. I said hey you can split what we paid you, with them, but that sucks for you. They said yeah, but were a team, and he smiled. I shook his hand and said right on man, that’s what it’s all about.

“the scene” was in this other band as well, and it was beautiful.

Maybe we can all learn from it.

  1. #1 by teen on February 12, 2006 - 1:54 pm

    hey that’s a nice picture. Why don’t u respond to posts on my blog..? 😦

  2. #2 by nawbaw on February 12, 2006 - 2:55 pm

    my bad, truth is, I’ve just been busy lateley. I haven’t had much time to surf. I usually just post and go, kinda like fast food blogging, extremeley unhealthy, I know.

  3. #3 by teen on February 15, 2006 - 5:59 am

    That is something. Fast food blogging. haha. :0

Leave a Reply

